Daily Facts
Content previously syndicated to other websites

Magnetic Reluctance

August 21st Fact-of-the-Day

The magnetic circuit property that determines the relationship between magnetic flux and corresponding magnetomotive force (mmf) is called 'magnetic reluctance.' The unit of magnetic reluctance was the 'oersted' until 1930 when the International Electrotechnical Commission adopted that name for the unit of magnetizing force, which left the unit of reluctance without a name. The cgs unit of magnetic reluctance is now the 'maxwell.' The name change can make text written about magnetic properties before 1930 confusing to modern readers. ©2004 Martek International All rights reserved.

Search other ham radio sites with Ham Radio Search